#### MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE April 22, 2014 Meeting of the 2014-2015 Faculty Senate

Meeting convened at 2:10 p.m. by Terry Clark, President.

## CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

<u>Members present</u>: Shaikh Ahmed, Philip Anton, George Boulukos, Joe Cheatwood, Terry Clark, Judith Davie, Lucian Dervan, Bruce Devantier, Mark Dolan, Ahmad Fakhoury, Anthony Fleege, Jordan Forbes, Edward Gershburg (Springfield), David W. Gilbert, Steven C. Goetz, Edward Heist, Eric Holzmueller, Holly S. Hurlburt, Andrea Imre, Allan Karnes (ex-officio), Carolyn Kingcade, Sajal Lahiri, James MacLean, Nancy Martin, John McSorley, John Reeve, Ruth Anne Rehfeldt, Benjamin Rodriguez, Rachel Stocking, Gray Whaley, Rachel Whaley, Lyle White, Mingqing Xiao

<u>Members absent without Proxy</u>: Sandy Fark, Laura Halliday, Howard Motyl, James Phegley, Stacey Sloboda

#### ORIENTATION

1. Orientation packets were handed out for each Senator's review. President Clark suggested, unless there are questions, to move into the Election of Officers.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

- President Clark reviewed the duties of the President. Clark asked for nominations from the floor. J. Cheatwood nominated James MacLean for Senate President. It was seconded. Without any other nominations from the floor, a show of hands vote was taken, 36 for, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, James MacLean was elected Faculty Senate President.
- President Clark reviewed the duties of the Vice President. Nominations were received from the floor, Sajal Lahiri accepted the nomination. Without any other nominations, a show of hands vote was taken, 36 for, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, Sajal Lahiri was elected Vice President of the Faculty Senate.
- **3.** President Clark review the duties of the Secretary. Nominations were accepted from the floor. Philip Anton was nominated, and accepted. Without any other nominations from the floor, a show of hands vote was taken, 36 votes for, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions, Anton was elected Secretary of the Faculty Senate for 2014-15

## **ELECTION OF COMMITTEES ON COMMITTEES**

President Clark read the duties of the Committee on Committees members. Six members were need for the 2 year terms. Nominations were accepted from the floor. Those nominated were Terry Clark, James MacLean, Holly Hurlburt, Andrea Imre, Nancy Martin, Amhad Fakhoury, and Lyle White. The slate of candidates were voted on by a show of hands, 36 yes, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions.

#### **COMMITTEE PREFERENCES**

President Clark reminded all Senators to fill out their committee preference sheets and get them to Rhonda. The Committee on Committees met outside the meeting room to determine who would be on which committees. After the selection, committees were announced and Clark asked that each committee meet after adjournment to select a chair

and make sure that Rhonda get the chair's name.

**NEW BUSINESS** - None.

# ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 2:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Philip Anton, Secretary

PA:rf