Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, April 25, 2023 Video Conference Via Zoom Time 1:00 – 3:00 P.M.

Session 1 (Chaired by Yueh-Ting Lee) Open to all from 1:00 -2:00 P.M.

- I. Call to Order: Yueh-Ting Lee
- II. Roll Call: Julie Tate
- III. Approval of Minutes from April 11, 2023 2-3 minutes
- IV. FS President's Report: Yueh-Ting Lee 3 minutes
 - A. Committee Annual Reports/Summary
- V. Remarks from Chancellor and Co-Provost 5-10 minutes
 - A. Chancellor Austin Lane additional comments 3-5 minutes
 - B. Co-Provosts Morris or Morgan 3-5 minutes
- VI. Reports (25-30 minutes)
 - A. Executive Committee: Chair, Yueh-Ting Lee 2-3 minutes
 - B. Election Committee: Chair, Bethany Rader 3-5 minutes
 - C. Faculty Status and Welfare Committee: Co-Chairs, Scott Gilbert and Arash Komaee 2-3 minutes
 - D. Undergraduate Education Policy Committee: Chair Jennifer Walker 5-10 minutes
 - E. Budget Committee: Co-Chairs, Michael Eichholz and Farhan Chowdhury –2-3 minutes
 - F. Committee on Committees: Co-Chairs, Elaine Jurkowski and Seung-Hee Lee 2-3 minutes
 - G. Governance Committee: Co-Chairs, Patrick McGrath and Khalid Meksem 2-3 minutes
 - H. VC of Research: Costa Tsatsoulis 2-3 minutes
 - I. Faculty Advisory Council to IBHE: Lichang Wang 2-3 minutes
 - J. Graduate Council Representative: Tomas Velasco 2-3 minutes
 - K. Ad Hoc Committee on Institutional Ranking/Educational Quality (Co-chairs: Y-T Lee and Elaine Jurkowski) 2-3 minutes
- VII. Old Business
- VIII. New Business 5-8 minutes
 - A. Recognition of outgoing Senators Thank you for your service!
 - B. Other Comments or Announcements
- IX. Adjournment (Motion/Second/Vote)

Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, April 25, 2023 Video Conference via Zoom Time 1:00 – 3:00 P.M.

Session 2 (Chaired by Yueh-Ting Lee) Immediately following adjournment of the 2022-2023 FS from 2:00 – 3:00 P.M. (same Zoom link)

I. Call to Order: Yueh-Ting Lee

II. Roll Call: Julie Tate

III. Orientation: Yueh-Ting Lee

- A. Recognition of New Senators
- B. 2023-2024 Orientation Packet
 - 1. Role of the Faculty Senate and the Faculty Senator
 - 2. Roles of the Faculty Senate Officers
 - 3. Roles of Standing Committees

IV. Election of Officers: Yueh-Ting Lee and Bethany Rader

- A. Voting Procedures Review
- B. Elections
 - 1. President
 - 2. Vice President
 - 3. Secretary

V. Election of Committee on Committees

A. The seven members of the Committee on Committees shall be elected by and from the Faculty Senate. Members of the Committee on Committees shall serve a two-year term, with approximately half of the committee being elected each year. https://policies.siu.edu/employees-handbook/chapter11/opffs.php

VI. Committee Preference Sheet (see attached)

- A. Please complete and send to joshfrick@siu.edu if you have not already submitted one.
- VII. New Business
- VIII. Announcements
- IX. Adjournment (Motion/Second/Vote)