2023-2024 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 12, 2023 Morris Library, Room 752/754 or Teams Option 1:00 – 3:00 P.M.

I. Call to Order

The December meeting was called to order by President Bethany Rader.

II. Roll Call: Michael Hylin

<u>Members:</u> Nwamaka Anaza, Gary Apgar, Randall Auxier, Daniel Bronke, Lingguo Bu, Marissa Ellerman, Scott Gilbert, Michael Hylin, Ghassan Ishak, Elaine Jurkowski, Sarah Lewison, Stacey McKinney, Khalid Meksem, Amber Pond, Louis Premkumar, Jeffrey Punske, Bethany Rader, Diana Sarko, Walter Ray, Jennifer Walker, Lichang Wang, Cherie Watson, Rachel Whaley, Christopher Wienke, Geoffrey Young

Members Absent with Proxy: Lorelei Ritchie (Proxy Artie Berns),

<u>Members Absent:</u> Ying Chen, Arash Komaee, Yueh-Ting Lee, Mehdi Ashayeri, Seung-Hee Lee, Seved Yaser Samadi

<u>Guests:</u> Terry Clark, Scott Collins, Rachel Frazier, Josh Frick, Austin Lane, Costas Tsatsoulis, Sheryl Tucker, Carroll Walker

III. Approval of Minutes from November 14, 2023

Motion: R. Whaley Second: M. Hylin

A vote commenced: 19 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstentions; The minutes from 11/14/2023 were

approved as presented.

IV. Remarks

A. President's Comments: Bethany Rader – B. Rader thanked Y. Lee for attending the strategic listening session with the Provost for the College of Arts and Media. Rader attended sessions with the College of Agriculture, Life, and Physical Sciences and thanked all faculty that participated. B. Rader held a meeting with Chancellor Lane, Provost Tucker, APAA Wallace, Y. Lee, J. Walker, K. Meksem, J. Punske, and Rachel Tollett to discuss Senate involvement in operating paper review. It was decided that Senate review of unit operating papers cannot be compulsive and not violate the collective bargaining agreement with the Faculty Association, which dictates those contents of the OP, as well as grievance procedure in Article 5. Units are welcome to ask for the Senate's help with the OPs and the Senate can create an ad hoc committee to work with them. B. Rader announced their will be no FS meeting in January.

V. Chancellor and Provost

A. Chancellor Austin Lane Report – Chancellor Lane reported commencement is Saturday and encouraged faculty to attend. The Chancellor thanked faculty for there work this semester and stated retention numbers are looking promising so far. Chancellor Lane announced the loss of undergraduate students Wolfgang Gustafson and Frank Martinez. They are focused on recruitment efforts for Fall 2024. The Chancellor shared his screen to show where they recruit and spoke about the Saluki commitment to transfer students. Chancellor Lane also highlighted the Saluki step ahead partners and showed each college/school growth opportunities set for 2030. Lane then shared at-risk

- characteristics negatively impacting the likelihood of students' ability to be retained and/or graduate. The Chancellor touched on the legislative session that will follow after holiday break.
- B. Provost Sheryl Tucker Report Provost Tucker spoke briefly on the importance of commencement and reported finishing the academic strategic planning sessions. The Provost noted student success as one key piece and shared her screen to highlight access and opportunity for the underserved and underrepresented in bridge programs. Provost Tucker continued discussion on Saluki step ahead partnerships, business partnerships, and having a data focused approach moving forward.
- C. Q and A Session L. Wang asked the Provost if CTE could extend hours during finals on Friday for test drop-offs.

VI. Reports

- A. Executive Committee: Chair, Bethany Rader B. Rader reported the AI Committee will report to the Executive Committee.
- B. Election Committee: Chair, Elaine Jurkowski E. Jurkowski reported working with J. Frick on the JRB elections.
- C. Undergraduate Education Policy Committee: Chair, Jeffrey Punske J. Punske reported three RMEs in process and needs to schedule a meeting.
- D. Budget Committee: Chair, Rachel Whaley R. Whaley will be sending an email to members.
- E. Committee on Committees: Co-Chairs, Amber Pond and Cherie Watson -A. Pond reported the committee recommends Louise Yoho for the Naming University Facilities Committee, Christine Watt for the Computing Advisory Committee, and Jeffrey Swift for the SIU Press Editorial Board.

Motion: A. Pond Second: R. Whaley

A vote commenced: 18 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstentions; The Faculty Senate approved the proposed names to serve their committee appointment.

- F. Faculty Status and Welfare Committee: Co-Chairs, Yueh-Ting Lee and Jennifer Walker
 - Resolution for the late Prof Jon Davey Terry Clark shared a brief story about Professor Davey and read aloud the proposed resolution. Members discussed a few amendments.

Motion: E. Jurkowski

Second: W. Ray

A vote commenced: 20 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstentions; The Faculty Senate approved the resolution for the late Professor Jon Davey.

- G. Governance Committee: Co-Chair, Khalid Meksem No report.
- H. Faculty Advisory Council to IBHE: Lichang Wang L. Wang reported meeting on November 17, 2023 at Northeastern Illinois University. There were three presentations. One was given by English Rhetoric Professor Lisa Philips from Texas Tech University on the Texas Higher Educations issues. The second presentation by Professor of English and Women's/Gender/Sexuality Studies Timothy Barnett from Northeastern Illinois University on their journey and experiences on developing and teaching prison inmates. The third presentation was given by the Deputy Executive Director Jennifer Foster from Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) on the ICCB updates including dual credit, transfer, and their involvement in prison inmate education. Discussion was made on the issues related AI policy and higher education funding but no letters of recommendation

- were generated by the FAC members. The next FAC to IBHE meeting will be held on January 19, 2024.
- I. Graduate Council Representative: Scott Collins S. Collins reported meeting on December 7th and passing two resolutions. One was a concentration and teacher leadership in the School of Education and the second resolution was to create course only nonterminal graduate degrees. The next meeting is February 1, 2024. S. Collins answered L. Wangs question that nonterminal graduate degrees are allowed in any program that deems it appropriately awarded but excludes MFAs.
- J. VC of Research: Costas Tsatsoulis C. Tsatsoulis shared his screen to show the graduate admissions funnel by semester by week. Tsatsoulis reviewed the information and added the REACH competition opens December 4th, an increase in fellowship stipends, and had recruiting meetings with the embassies of Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Oman. C. Tsatsoulis showed requested funding (July-October) \$44.1M +88.5% and awards (July-November) \$42.6M +6.8%. They had conversations with Argonne National Lab with faculty to visit in January or February. Nominations are open for Scholar Excellence Award and the deadline is Friday, January 26, 2024 at 4:30pm. The selection committee chair is Professor Seung-Hee Lee.
- K. Ad Hoc Committee on Institutional Ranking/Educational Quality: Co-Chairs, Elaine Jurkowski and Yueh-Ting Lee E. Jurkowski reported meeting on December 1st and prior to the meeting they circulated a qualitative questionnaire to committee members. They had 17 responses and will use the overview toward a quantitative survey for other stakeholders on campus. Each subcommittee will look at specific questions related to their area and will identify 3-5 priority suggestions and recommendations for actions.

VII. Old Business

None

VIII. New Business

S. Lewison reported CHS is down from 10 employees to 4, maybe less. B. Rader will include this information in her report to the Provost and Chancellor.

IX. Adjournment

Motion: M. Hylin Second: M. Ellerman