WHEREAS there are currently only two seats on the Faculty Senate representing the non-tenure track faculty voting unit; and

WHEREAS there are approximately 600 FTE of non-tenure track faculty at SIUC (including the Medical School), giving non-tenure track senators about ten times the number of constituents as other senators; and

WHEREAS 165 of the 600 FTE of non-tenure track faculty at SIUC are continuing appointments, requiring a minimum of five consecutive full-time academic years of assignment, indicating stability;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Operating Paper of the Faculty and the Faculty Senate be amended as follows:

II. The Faculty Senate

- A. Composition
- 2. Voting Units
- c. The Faculty Senate shall normally consist of 3236 members. The nontenure track faculty unit shall have two-six seats, five held by continuing non-tenure track faculty members and one held by a non-continuing non-tenure track faculty member. The remaining seats shall be apportioned among the voting units, save the non-tenure track faculty unit, using the Huntington-Hill Method according to the number of tenured and tenure track voting faculty FTE in each voting unit. However, each voting unit shall have at last one representative, and no elected member shall be deprived of a seat on the basis of this reapportionment.
- 4. Terms and Vacancies
- a. The term of elected members shall be three years, with the exception of the non-continuing non-tenure track member, which shall be one year. one-third One-third of the Senate being shall be elected each year. Members may not serve for more than two consecutive terms, and one year must elapse after the second consecutive term before they may again be eligible for election. The term of elected members shall begin with the special meeting held for the election of officers after spring membership elections. If elected members leave their constituency before the term expires, the constituency may request an election for a replacement.