MINUTES OF THE 2015-2016 FACULTY SENATE April 28, 2015

Meeting convened at 2:45 p.m. by Jim MacLean, 2014-2015 President.

ROLL CALL

<u>Members present</u>: Shaikh Ahmed, Philip Anton, Jason Bond, Deb Burris, Joe Cheatwood, Terry Clark, Sandra Collins, John Davey, Judy Davie, Lucian Dervan, Ahmad Fakhoury, Sandy Fark, Jordan Forbes, Laura Halliday, Andrea Imre, Bobbi Knapp, James MacLean, John McSorley, Howard Motyl, Ryan Netzley, John Reeve, Ruth Anne Rehfeldt, Benjamin Rodriguez, Stacey Sloboda, Robert Spahr, Rachel Stocking, Shelley Tischkau, Gray Whaley, Wendi Zea

<u>Members absent with Proxy</u>: Saikat Talapatra (Aldo Migone proxy), Qiang Cheng (Jane Geisler-Lee proxy)

<u>Members absent without Proxy</u>: David Gilbert, Sajal Lahiri, James Mathias, Grant Tobin, Melissa Viernow

<u>Visitors and guests</u>: James Allen (Associate Provost for Academic Programs), Provost Susan Ford (ex-officio)

ORIENTATION

J. MacLean welcomed new and returning Senators. He then reviewed the duties and responsibilities of President and Vice President. P. Anton reviewed the responsibilities of Secretary.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

J. MacLean opened the floor for nominations for President. P. Anton nominated Andrea Imre, seconded by J. Forbes. J. Cheatwood nominated P. Anton which he declined because he will be on sabbatical in the spring. Hearing no other nominations, J. MacLean moved to close nominations,

A. Imre was elected 2015-2016 President on a show of hands vote.

J. MacLean opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. P. Anton nominated Sandra Collins; seconded by J. MacLean. A. Imre nominated Gray Whaley; seconded by J. Cheatwood. Hearing no other nominations, J. MacLean and P. Anton distributed paper ballots for the vote for Vice President.

G. Whaley was elected 2015-2016 Vice President by paper ballot vote.

J. MacLean opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. P. Anton nominated Howard Motyl; seconded by R. Spahr. J. Forbes self-nominated; seconded by T. Clark. Hearing no other nominations, J. MacLean and P. Anton distributed paper ballots for the vote for Secretary.

H. Motyl was elected 2015-2016 Secretary by paper ballot.

ELECTION OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

J. MacLean reported that there are four vacancies to be filled on the Committee on Committees for two year terms. Continuing members on the committee are Terry Clark, Andrea Imre, and James MacLean. J. MacLean opened the floor to nominations/volunteers. The following people were nominated: Phil Anton, Jordan Forbes, Ben Rodriguez, and Gray Whaley. Hearing no other nominations, J. MacLean moved to close nominations; seconded by L. Halliday.

Nominations to the Committee on Committees were approved unanimously on a voice vote.

COMMITTEE PREFERENCES

J. MacLean asked that Senators turn in their committee preference forms so the Committee on Committees could begin determining standing committee assignments. Confirmation of Standing Committee appointments will be approved at the May 12, 2015 meeting.

NEW BUSINESS - None.

ANNOUNCEMENTS - None.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Howard Motyl, Secretary HM:ao