## The SIUC Faculty Senate Report by the Committee on Committees (2020-2021)

Prepared by Yueh-Ting Lee and Scott Comparato on 4/26/21 and updated on 4/29/21

Members of the Committee on Committees (i.e, the ConC): Amy Bro, Elaine Jurkowski, Jon Davey, Lichang Wang, Scott Comparato, Seung-Hee Lee, and Yueh-Ting Lee

In the past year, we the ConC helped to fill all vacancies and requests of various committee both within and outside the faculty senate. First, after the election of the FS president, VP and secretary, Scott Comparato and Yueh-Ting Lee were elected to be Co-Chairs of the ConC. After that the Co-Chairs of this Committee helped each FS Standing Committee to elect their own chairs/cochairs. Second, we sent off calls to the entire faculty members on campus about the vacancies and seats of all the committees requested by various offices on campus. An updated list of the all the committees (at large committees) on which our faculty member serve is available on the FS website. <a href="https://facultysenate.siu.edu/committees/">https://facultysenate.siu.edu/committees/</a>. Finally we helped to fill the university (SIUC) diversity task force, SIUC committee of financial conflict interest, the university various search committees, SIU system strategic planning task force, SIU system strategic goal on faculty and staff satisfaction. All our appointees are approved by the ConC members and ratified by the faculty senate. Below is a detailed report by three categories—SUMMER, 2020; FALL, 2020 AND SPRING 2021.

## **Summer, 2020**

1. **Appointment/Selection of Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs** via voting as per the FS Operating Paper:

Budget Committee: Jacob Haubenreich, Chair

Faculty State and Welfare Committee: Robin Warne, Co-Chair and Dong Han, Co-Chair Governance Committee: Lichang Wang, Co-Chair and Shane Koch, Co-Chair Undergraduate Education and Policy Committee: Bethany Rader, Co-Chair and Joseph Sramek, Co-Chair

- 2. In July, the Committee on Committees has selected Kofi Akanmani to serve on the **Diversity Task Force** as the representative from the Faculty Senate Diversity Task Force on campus.
- 3. Lichang Wong was approved as an IBHE Representative for SIUC campus
- 4. Shane Darwin Koch and Yueh-Ting Lee were approved and recommended to the **SIU** system strategic planning task force.

5. Jennifer Sherry and Debra Pender were appointed to serve on Provost working group on COVID-19 plus Marcus Odom who also served on this committee.

## Fall, 2020

1, Please see the list of 33 approved appointments (see attached or website. **AT LARGE COMMITTEES**: <a href="https://facultysenate.siu.edu/committees/">https://facultysenate.siu.edu/committees/</a>) or see attached.

That is, the Committee on Committees selected and recommend a list of approximately 33 appointments.

2. Two more notes are in order here in addition to the list you see. Also, we just appointed Dr. L Zhong to serve on the University Joint Benefit Committee. We reviewed and approved two faculty members (Joseph Brown and Seung-Hee Lee) to serve on Associate Chancellor for Diversity Search. For the Provost search for the CIO/IT director, Prof. John Farrish has been appointed to serve.

## Spring, 2021

- 1. We reviewed and approved the following faculty to serve on the **Financial Conflict of Interest (FCOI) Committee for VP of Research** Office.
- Dr. Mingqing Xiao (mxiao@siu.edu) Professor of Mathematics
- Dr. Justin McDaniel (jtmcd@siu.edu) Associate Professor of Public Health.
- Dr. Seleena Shrestha, MD; Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, SOM,
- Dr. Brooke Miller Assistant Professor Dept of Family and Community Medicine SOM
- Dr. Yong Gao Associate Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry
- Dr. Elaine Jurkowski Professor of Social Work
- Dr. Liliana Lefticariu Associate Professor of Geology
- 2. The Committee on Committees reviewed all responses and recommended that Professor Debora Pender serve on this **SIU system Goal Committee on Faculty and Staff Satisfaction**.
- 3. We reviewed and approved the following six faculty representatives to serve on the screening committee for **Associate Chancellor for Enrollment Management (ACEM)**:

Faculty Rep. 1

Name/Rank: Dr. Anne Fletcher, Professor and FA President

Area: Theater and Faculty Association

Email: afletch@siu.edu

Note: She can make it on MW and a designee/proxy covers TuTh for her due to her teaching

at that time

Faculty Rep. 2

Name/Rank: Dr. Joe Sramek, Associate Professor

Area: History

Email: sramek@siu.edu

Note: Very active and also care for enrollment. FS members and FSEC members

Faculty Rep. 3

Name/Rank: Dr. Jenny Qian Huang, Associate Professor

Area: Architecture Email: qhuang@siu.edu

Note: her CV Available upon request

Faculty Rep. 4

Name/Rank: Dr. Ahmed Al-Asfour, Associate Professor

Area: Workforce Development and Education

Email: ahmed.alasforu@siu.edu

Note: Experience in diverse student recruitment and retention, his CV available upon request

Faculty Rep. 5

Name/Rank: Dr. Katherine Martin, Assistant Professor

Area: Linguistics and TESOL Email: martinki@siu.edu

Note: She has worked here for six year and to be promoted as associate professor soon.

Faculty Rep. 6

Name/Rank: Mr. Timothy S. Davis, NTT or lecturer

Area: Health Science and Physical Therapy

Email: tdavis@siu.edu

Note: Involved in recruitment/enrollment and open houses in the past