MINUTES OF THE 2016-2017 FACULTY SENATE April 26, 2016

Meeting convened at 2:43 p.m. by Andrea Imre, 2015-2016 President.

ROLL CALL

<u>Members present</u>: Shaikh Ahmed, Jason Bond, Deborah Burris, Joe Cheatwood, Kathleen Chwalisz, Sandra Collins, Elizabeth Cox, Jon Davey, Judith Davie, Ahmad Fakhoury, Sandy Fark, David Gilbert, Michael Hoane, Bobbi Knapp, James Mathias, Grant Miller, Ryan Netzley, Kyle Plunkett, Ruth Anne Rehfeldt, Robert Spahr, Saikat Talapatra, Melissa Viernow, Jim Wall, Cherie Watson, Gray Whaley, Peggy Wilken, Wendi Zea

<u>Members absent with Proxy</u>: Howard Motyl (proxy Jay Needham), Kay Zivkovich (proxy Stacey Sloboda)

<u>Members absent without Proxy</u>: Shawn Cheng, Terry Clark, Sandra Ettema, Tobin Grant, Michael Koehler, John Reeve, Benjamin Rodriguez, Shelley Tischkau

<u>Visitors and guests</u>: Provost Susan Ford (Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, ex-officio)

ORIENTATION

A. Imre welcomed new and returning Senators and pointed out that the orientation information was included in the agenda for the meeting. Imre also encouraged all members of the Senate to visit the Faculty Senate website and read the Operating Paper at least once so that you can become familiar with the procedures. Imre reviewed the procedure for securing a proxy and reminded all Senators that they are representatives of their college and to please keep them informed.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

A. Imre opened the floor for nominations for President. A. Imre nominated Judy Davie. Hearing no other nominations, A. Imre moved to close nominations and called for a voice vote.

J. Davie was elected 2016-2017 President unanimously by voice vote.

A. Imre opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. G. Whaley nominated Howard Motyl, J. Needham accepted the nomination on behalf of H. Motyl. Hearing no other nominations, A. Imre moved to close nominations and called for a voice vote.

H. Motyl was elected 2016-2017 Vice President unanimously by voice vote.

A. Imre opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. G. Whaley nominated Benjamin Rodriguez who submitted his interest in writing to the Executive Council. S. Ahmed nominated J. Cheatwood who graciously declined due to being elected President of the School of Medicine Faculty Council next year. Hearing no other nominations, A. Imre moved to close nominations and called for a voice vote.

B. Rodriguez was elected 2016-2017 Secretary unanimously by voice vote.

ELECTION OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

A. Imre explained that there are five vacancies to be filled on the Committee on Committees; four for two year terms, one for a one year term. Continuing members on the committee are Ben Rodriguez and Gray Whaley. A. Imre opened the floor to nominations/volunteers. The following people volunteered: Terry Clark, Ahmad Fakhoury, Bobbi Knapp, Ryan Netzley, and Cherie Watson. Hearing no other nominations, A. Imre moved to close nominations and called for a voice vote.

Nominations to the Committee on Committees were approved unanimously on a voice vote.

COMMITTEE PREFERENCES

A. Imre dismissed the members of the Committee on Committees (CoC) to a separate room to make appointments to the standing committees. Upon returning, the CoC announced the members of the standing committees; each committee met briefly to determine the chair of the committee. The Confirmation of Standing Committee appointments will be approved at the May 10, 2016 meeting.

NEW BUSINESS - None.

ANNOUNCEMENTS - None.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Ben Rodriguez, Secretary BR:ao