MINUTES OF THE 2017-18 FACULTY SENATE April 25, 2017

Meeting convened at 1:25 p.m. by Judy Davie, 2016-17 President.

ROLL CALL

<u>Members present</u>: Jon Bean, Jason Bond, Alejandro Caceres, Doug Carlson, Kathleen Chwalisz, Sandra Collins, Elizabeth Cox, Jon Davey, Judy Davie, Marissa Ellermann, Ahmad Fakhoury, Derek Fisher, Constantine Hatziadoniu, Michael Hoane, Carolyn Kingcade, Jim MacLean, James Mathias, Michael May, Grant Miller, Howard Motyl, Marcus Odom, Segun Ojewuyi, Kyle Plunkett, Robert Spahr, Saikat Talapatra, April Teske, Melissa Viernow, Jim Wall, Cherie Watson, Kay Zivkovich

Members absent with Proxy: Heeyoung Han (Collin Hilt proxy), Bobbi Knapp (Phil Anton proxy)

Members absent without Proxy: Shawn Cheng, Sandra Ettema, Tobin Grant, Michael Koehler, Wendi Zea

<u>Ex-Officios and guests</u>: Susan Ford (Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, ex-officio), Lizette Chevalier (Associate Provost for Academic Programs, APAP)

ORIENTATION

J. Davie welcomed new and returning Senators and pointed out that the orientation information was included in the agenda for the meeting. Davie also encouraged all members of the Senate to visit the Faculty Senate website and read the Operating Paper at least once so that you can become familiar with the procedures. Davie reviewed the procedure for securing a proxy and reminded all Senators that they are representatives of their college and to please keep them informed.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

- J. Davie opened the floor for nominations for President. J. Davie nominated Kathleen Chwalisz. Seconded by S. Collins. Hearing no other nominations, J. Davie closed the nominations and called for a voice vote.
- K. Chwalisz was elected 2017-2018 President unanimously by voice vote.
- J. Davie opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. H. Motyl nominated Ahmad Fakhoury. Seconded by J. MacLean. Hearing no other nominations, J. Davie closed the nominations and called for a voice vote.

Ahmad Fakhoury was elected 2017-2018 Vice President unanimously by voice vote.

J. Davie opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. H. Motyl nominated Grant Miller. Seconded by P. Anton (proxy for B. Knapp). Hearing no other nominations, J. Davie closed the nominations and called for a voice vote.

Grant Miller was elected 2017-2018 Secretary unanimously by voice vote.

ELECTION OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

J. Davie explained that there are six vacancies to be filled on the Committee on Committees; four for two year terms, one for a one year term. Bobbi Knapp is the only continuing member on the committee. J. Davie opened the floor to nominations/volunteers. The following people volunteered: Cherie Watson, Derek Fisher, Alejandro Caceres, Carolyn Kingcade, Jim Maclean, Sandra Collins . Hearing no other nominations, J. Davie moved to close nominations and called for a voice vote.

Nominations to the 2017-18 Committee on Committees were approved unanimously on a voice vote.

COMMITTEE PREFERENCES

J. Davie dismissed the members of the Committee on Committees (CoC) to a separate room to make appointments to the standing committees. Upon returning, the CoC announced the members of the standing committees; each committee met briefly to determine the chair of the committee. The Confirmation of Standing Committee appointments will be approved at the May 9, 2017 meeting.

NEW BUSINESS

None

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Grant Miller, Secretary

GM: ao