Faculty Senate (FS)-- For Your Information and UpdateOverview

- 1. Y-T Lee's Message to Serve the Faculty
- 2. A Thank-You Note from the Provost's Office
- 3. SIUC Faculty Senate Roster

1. Y-T. LEE'S MESSAGE TO SERVE THE FACULTY

I am very honored and humbled to serve as a new Faculty Senate (FS) President to support all SIUC faculty members in 2021-2022. I am excited to act as a coordinator and facilitator for faculty senators and will do so by collaborating with you and your constituencies. I believe in service, transparency, and collaboration and will continue to advocate for faculty members' interest and welfare, including shared governance, academic/research excellence, DEI (diversity, equity and inclusion), and quality/accountability and ethics on campus.

Several notes are for your information. First, I would like to express my deep appreciation to previous FS officers Professors Marcus Odom, Grant Miller and Amber Pond for their superb service to our faculty and generous support in this transition, and I also would like to introduce our new VP Bethany Rader and Secretary Matt Gorzalski to you in 2021-2022. We all look forward to working with you and each other. Second, we are saddened to learn that Prof. Darwin Shane Koch passed away on May 15, 2021, which is a great loss to FS and SIUC community. Dr. Koch was an outstanding professor who made significant contributions to the SIUC both as an excellent FS leader, teacher and researcher on campus. We convey our sympathy and condolence to his family and friends. He lives in our heart and memory.

As an extremely important constituency on campus, the Faculty Senate is here to serve you, to hear from you, and to support you to be more successful, based on the University FS Operating Paper (https://policies.siu.edu/employees-handbook/chapter11/opffs.php). Please see the following list of senators in your area or colleges/schools and committee chairs and co-chairs. If you have any suggestions or concerns about faculty affairs, please feel free to contact our elected senate representatives in your unit and/or write directly to respective committee chairs/co-chairs. This information is also available at our faculty senate website (https://facultysenate.siu.edu/membership/). You are also welcome to contact me directly (leeg@siu.edu) at any time as needed.

Finally, and most importantly, I am very grateful to all of you for your services and commitment to SIUC and our students especially during the challenges presented by the pandemic this past year. I am also aware that most of us are off contract in the summer. I wish you an enjoyable and safe summer and see you in Fall, 2021.

2. A THANK-YOU NOTE FROM THE PROVOST'S OFFICE

"A huge 'Thank You' goes to our faculty for their dedicated efforts in teaching our students during this past year. Faculty stepped up and embraced virtual teaching as needed, accommodated students' circumstances, and continued our mission of educating our students despite difficult and stressful circumstances. We appreciate the teamwork. As we continue to monitor the pandemic, we are hoping for a more 'normal' Fall 2021." ---An email message from Provost M. Komarraju

3. FACULTY SENATE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2021-2022

as of 5/20/2021

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL, LIFE, AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES				
	Eichholz, Michael (Biological Sciences) eichholz@siu.edu	453-6951		
*	Kohli, Punit (Chemical & Biomolecular Sciences) pkohli@chem.siu.edu	453-2895		
	Rader, Bethany (Biological Sciences) bethany.rader@siu.edu	453-7821		
**	, -	453-1707		
*	Wang, Lichang (Chemical & Biomolecular Sciences) lwang@chem.siu.edu	453-6476		
COLLEGE OF BUSINESS AND ANALYTICS				
	Gilbert, Scott (Analytics, Finance and Economics) gilberts@siu.edu	536-7746		
*	Odom, Marcus (Accountancy) modom@business.siu.edu	453-1408		
COLLEGE OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SCIENCES				
**	Anton, Phil (Human Sciences)	453-3116		
	panton@siu.edu Jurkowski, Elaine (Human Sciences)	453-1200		
*	etjurkow@siu.edu Lee, Yueh-Ting (Psychological & Behavioral Sciences)	453-3564		
	leey@siu.edu McKinney, Stacey (Health Sciences)	453-7224		
*	smckinney8@siu.edu Sherry, Jennifer (Health Sciences)	453-8891		
	cInteth@siu.edu			
	HOOL OF EDUCATION	452 4250		
*	Miller, Grant (School of Education) gmiller@siu.edu	453-4250		
COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING, COMPUTING, TECHNOLOGY AND MATHEMATICS				
	Chen, Ying (Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering)	453-7060		
*	Chowdhury, Farhan (Mechanical, Aerospace & Materials Engineering) farhan.chowdhury@siu.edu	453-7833		
	Komaee, Arash (Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering) akomaee@siu.edu	453-7064		
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND MEDIA				
	Lee, Seung-Hee (Architecture)	453-1981		

**	shlee@siu.edu Han, Dong (Journalism) donghan@siu.edu	536-3361	
	Metz, Walter (Media Arts)	453-2298	
	wmetz@siu.edu Needham, Jay (Media Arts)	536-7555	
	jayn@siu.edu		
	LLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS Brown, Joseph (Africana and Multicultural Studies)	453-7147	
**	jbrownsj@siu.edu Comparato, Scott (Anthropology, Political Science & Sociology)	536-2371	
*	scompara@siu.edu McGrath, Patrick (Literature, Writing and Digital Humanities)	453-6866	
**	pjmcgrath@siu.edu Shapiro, Joseph (Literature, Writing and Digital Humanities)	453-6858	
*	jpshapiro@siu.edu Sramek, Joseph (History and Philosophy) sramek@siu.edu	453-4391	
	BRARY AFFAIRS Gorzalski, Matt (Library Affairs) mgorz@siu.edu	453-2225	
	HOOL OF LAW Brobst, Jennifer (School of Law) jbrobst@siu.edu	453-8702	
* Black, Eric (Clinical Psychiatry) (217) 545-7659			
*	eblack35@siumed.edu	` ,	
	DiLalla, Lisabeth (Family and Community Medicine) Idilalla@siu.edu	453-1855	
**	McDowell, Christopher (Emergency Medicine) cmcdowell@siumed.edu	(217) 545-7409	
	Sarko, Diana (Anatomy) dsarko38@siumed.edu	453-1737	
NO *	DN-TENURE TRACK FACULTY VOTING UNIT Bro, Amy (Health Sciences)	453-4980	
	amylake@siu.edu Broomfield, Robert (Health Sciences)	453-7287	
*	broomr@siu.edu Kreher, Victoria (Journalism)	453-2267	
	kreher@siu.edu		
	Pangrazio, Amanda (School of Education) amanda.herrick@siu.edu	453-2354	
*	Phillips, Mike (Media Arts) michael.d.phillips@siu.edu	453-2223	
*	Tate, Julie (School of Education) jktate@siu.edu	453-4271	

EX-OFFICIO (non-voting) MEMBERS

Marcus Odom, Past Faculty Senate President
Austin Lane, Chancellor
Meera Komarraju, Provost David Dilalla, Associate Provost for Academic Administration Lizette Chevalier, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs Junghwa Lee, Graduate Council Representative Lichang Wang, IBHE Faculty Representative

^{**}Serving through Spring 2022 * Serving through Spring 2023 Others serving through Spring 2024

Allison Sutphin, School of Medicine Faculty Council Representative

CURRENT SENATE OFFICERS

Lee, Yueh-Ting – President Rader, Bethany – Vice President Gorzalski, Matt – Secretary

CURRENT SENATE COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Committee on Committees – Seung-Hee Lee, Elaine Jurkowski Budget Committee – Marcus Odom, Jennifer Brobst Faculty Status and Welfare – Scott Comparato, Jennifer Sherry Governance – Jay Needham, Lichang Wang (Fall 2021), Patrick McGrath (Spring 2022) Undergraduate Education Policy Committee – Joseph Sramek, Amy Bro

Thank you for your service and commitment to SIU and our Students