Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, February 11, 2025 Morris Library, Room 752/754 or Teams Option 1:00 - 3:00 p.m.

- I. Call to Order: Yueh-Ting Lee
- II. Roll Call: Michael Hylin
- III. Approval of Minutes from December 10, 2024
 - A. Motion/Second/Vote
- IV. President's Report: Yueh-Ting Lee (4-6 minutes)
- V. Q and A Session with Chancellor and Provost (20 minutes)
 - A. Chancellor Austin Lane additional comments 3 minutes
 - B. Provost Sheryl Tucker 3 minutes
- VI. Special Guests— VC of ADEI, Dr. Paul Frazier & VC of Student Affairs, Dr. Jeffery Burgin (10 minutes)
- VII. Special Update on SIU Research I Status/Graduate Education: VC of Research Dr. Costas Tsatsoulis (5-7 minutes)
- VIII. Reports (35-45 minutes)
 - **A. Executive Committee:** Chair, Yueh-Ting Lee, 2-3 minutes
 - B. Election Committee: Chair, Amber Pond, 3-5 minutes
 - C. Governance Committee: Chair, Christopher Wienke, 3-5 minutes
 - D. Undergraduate Education Policy Committee: Chair, Jeffrey Punske, 5-10 minutes
 - Resolution to Eliminate Fashion Styling Specialization
 - Resolution to Eliminate Electronic Journalism Specialization/Rename News-Editorial Specialization
 - Resolution to Eliminate Photography Specialization
 - E. Budget Committee: Co-Chairs, Rachel Whaley and Khalid Meksem, 3-5 minutes
 - **F.** Committee on Committees: Co-Chairs, Jennifer Sherry & Gary Apgar, 3-10 minutes Approval of the list of JRB members (see their CV or Bios)

TERM: Dec. 2024 - Dec. 2027

- Seung-Hee Lee (CAM) continue to serve
- James Conder (CALPS) continue to serve
- Cindy Buys (SOL)
- Asghar Esmaeeli (CECTM)
- Sukesh Bhaumik (SOM)

Approval for new Faculty Senators to serve on committees:

- Budget Committee: Ahmed Torky, Jonathan Remo, & Kwangho Choiy
- Governance Committee: Mohtashim Shamsi & Kaitlyn Poirier
- FSWC: Julia Rendleman
- UEPC: John Farrish & Sarah Lewison

Approval of other appointments:

- FS member to serve on 2025 University-Level Scholar Excellence Award Committee (Mohtashim Shamsi)

- Faculty Rep to serve on 2025 AP/Civil Service Excellence Award Committee (Seleena Shrestha)
- Faculty Rep to serve on 2025 University-Level Early Career Faculty Excellence Award Committee (Minghui [Hannah] Hou)
- FS member for Committee to Look at Irregularities in Graduate Degree Program SOE (Chris Wienke)
 - *Note: This is a revised seat appointment from the last approval in December 2024.
- FS member to serve on 2025 University Faculty/Staff Appreciation Task Force (Jennifer Walker)
- FS member to serve on the University Honors Director Search Committee (John Farrish)
- FS members to serve on the University-Level Teaching Excellence Award Committee (Michael Hylin and Jennifer Sherry)
- **G.** Faculty Status and Welfare Committee: Co-Chairs, Gary Apgar & Dale Aschemann, 3-5 minutes
 - RESOLUTION ON FACULTY EMERITUS CRITERIA by the Faculty Senate and Graduate Council
- H. Faculty Advisory Council to IBHE: Lichang Wang 3-5 minutes
- I. Graduate Council Representative: Mark Peterson 3-5 minutes
- IX. Old Business

Senator Rachel Whaley - Intimate Relationships Between Faculty, Staff, and Students Policy

- X. New Business
- XI. Adjournment
 - A. Motion/Second/Vote