Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting

Tuesday, April 29, 2025

Virtual Team Meeting only

*Time 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.

*Session 1 (Chaired by Yueh-Ting Lee, 60 minutes) Open to all from 1:00 - 2:00 P.M.

(Note: <u>Session 2</u> is for the *new Senate* from <u>2:00 – 3:00 p.m.</u> A separate Teams link will be provided.)

- I. Call to Order: Yueh-Ting Lee
- II. Roll Call: Michael Hylin
- III. Approval of Minutes from April 15, 2025 2-3 minutes
- IV. FS President's Report: Yueh-Ting Lee 3 minutes
 - A. Committee Annual Reports/Summary
- V. Remarks from Chancellor and Provost 5-10 minutes
 - A. Chancellor Austin Lane additional comments 3-5 minutes
 - B. Provost Tucker- 3-5 minutes
- VI. Remarks or Updates from VCR and Dean of Graduate School Dr. C. Tsatsoulis (2-3 minutes)
- VII. Committee Reports (20-25 minutes)
 - A. Executive Committee: Chair, Yueh-Ting Lee, 2-3 minutes
 - B. Election Committee: Chair, Amber Pond, 2-3 minutes
 - Revoke the motion which was voted by the FS on newly elected Senators on April 15, 2025 (to comply with FS operating paper)
 - C. Undergraduate Education Policy Committee: Chair, Jeffrey Punske, 5-10 minutes
 - Resolution to Approve the New Bachelor of Science Degree in Environmental Science and Sustainability
 - D. Budget Committee: Co-Chairs, Rachel Whaley and Khalid Meksem, 2-3 minutes
 - E. Committee on Committees: Co-Chairs, Jennifer Sherry & Gary Apgar, 2-3 minutes
 - F. Governance Committee: Chair, Mohtashim Shamsi, 3-5 min.
 - G. Faculty Status and Welfare Committee: Co-Chairs, Gary Apgar & Dale Aschemann, 2-3 min.
 - H. Faculty Advisory Council to IBHE: Lichang Wang, 2-3 minutes
 - I. Graduate Council Representative: Mark Peterson, 2-3 minutes

VIII. Old Business

IX. New Business – 5-8 minutes

- A. Recognition of outgoing Senators Thank you for your service!
 - Lichang Wang, Michael Hylin, Seyed Yaser Samadi, Mehdi Ashayeri Jahan Khanemloo, Sarah Lewison, Julia Rendleman, Jeffrey Punske, Rachel Whaley, Walter Ray, Dale Aschemann, Amber Pond, Louis Premkumar, & Timothy Hurley
- B. Other Comments or Announcements
- X. Adjournment (Motion/Second/Vote)

Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, April 29, 2025

Team Conference only

Session 2 (Chaired by Yueh-Ting Lee & Amber Pond) Immediately following adjournment of 2024-2025 meeting 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.

I. Call to Order: Yueh-Ting Lee

II. Roll Call: Michael Hylin

III. Orientation: Yueh-Ting Lee

- A. Recognition of New Senators
 - David M. Johnson, Jia Liu, Haibo Wang, Erica Blumenstock, Frances Lee, Erin Hascup, Nicole Roberts, Seung-Hee Lee, Catherine (Cassie) Wagner, Katherine (Katie) Moore, Cheryl (Shelly) Page, & Lavern Byfield
- B. 2025-2026 Orientation Packet
 - 1. Role of the Faculty Senate and the Faculty Senator
 - 2. Roles of the Faculty Senate Officers
 - 3. Roles of Standing Committees

IV. **Election of Officers by the FS Election Committee**

- A. Voting Procedures Review
- B. Elections
 - 1. President
 - 2. Vice President
 - 3. Secretary

V. **Election of Committee on Committees**

A. The seven members of the Committee on Committees shall be elected by and from the Faculty Senate. Members of the Committee on Committees shall serve a two-year term, with approximately half of the committee being elected each year

(https://policies.siu.edu/employees-handbook/chapter11/operating-paper-faculty.php).

<u>coc</u>
2-year term
Jennifer Sherry - Co-Chair (completed yr 1 in 2025)
Gary Apgar - Co-Chair (completed yr 1 in 2025)
Jennifer Walker - completed yr 2 in 2025
Laurel Fredrickson - (completed yr 1 in 2025)
Lingguo Bu - (completed yr 1 in 2025)
Marissa Ellerman - completed yr 2 in 2025
Rachel Whaley - completed yr 2 in 2025 & end of FS term

VI. Committee Preference Sheet (see attached if you have not submitted)

A. Please complete and send to facultysenate@siu.edu if you have not already submitted one.

VII. **New Business**

- Vote and approve the FS meeting schedule for 2025-2026

VIII. **Announcements**

IX. Adjournment (Motion/Second/Vote)