## **Faculty Senate Committee on Committees Final Yearly Report**

## Co-Chairs: Jennifer Sherry and Gary Apgar

First, we would like to thank the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees' members, Marissa Ellerman, Lingguo Bu, Jennifer Walker, Rachel Whaley, and Laurel Frederickson. They all rose to the occasion and always answered the call to vote and participate in committee business---sometimes at short notice. This year has been a very busy one as far as filling seats for committees and other items of business.

The following items of business have been addressed during the 2024-2025 school year:

- July 16, 2024: ICE Committee needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - Mont Allen volunteered to be a member and co-chair of the ICE Committee (vote Y-6; N-0; A-1 for member and co-chair)
  - Mont Allen was confirmed through EC and FS
- July 22, 2024: University Naming Committee needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - o Nwamaka Anaza volunteered to be a member (vote Y-5; N-0; A-0)
  - o Nwamaka Anaza was confirmed by EC and FS
- September 3, 2024: Tenure and Promotion Task Force needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - o Michael Hylin volunteered to be a member (vote Y-7; N-0; A-0)
  - Michael Hylin was confirmed by EC and FS
- September 3, 2024: FS Committees and Standing Committees (ConC voted based on volunteer's statement of interest and number of open seats available)

#### FS Elections Committee: 3 vacancies

- o Moira Fiscus (vote Y-4; N-0; A-0)
- o Matt Gorzalski (vote Y-4; N-0; A-0)
- o Seung-Hee Lee (vote Y-5; N-0; A-0)
- Moira Fiscus, Matt Gorzalski, and Seung-Hee Lee were all confirmed by EC and FS

### FS Faculty Status and Welfare Committee: 2 vacancies

- o Katherine Martin (vote Y-5)
- o Seleena Shrestha (vote Y-3)
- o Debra Penrod (vote Y-0)

 Katherine Martin and Seleena Shrestha received the top votes for the two vacancies; confirmed by the EC and FS

Undergraduate Education Policy Committee (UEPC): 2 vacancies and 1 Undergraduate representative with 20 credit hours

- o Debra Penrod (vote Y-4; N-0; A-0)
- o Mark Amos (vote Y-4; N-0; A-0)
- o Student Representative Karen Villanueva (vote Y-4; N-0; A-0)
- Debra Penrod, Mark Amos, and Student Rep Karen Villanueva were all confirmed by EC and FS

# Honorary Degree and Distinguished Service Award: 1 vacancy

- o Yueh-Ting Lee volunteered (vote Y-4; N-0; A-0)
- Yueh-Ting Lee was confirmed by the EC and FS
- October 2, 2024: Core Curriculum Executive Council (CCEC) needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - o Michael Hylin (vote Y-2; N-0; A-0)
  - o Cinzia Padovani (vote Y-3; N-0; A-0)
  - o Cinzia Padovani was confirmed by the EC and FS
- November 5, 2024: System Vice President for Finance and Administrative Affairs Search Committee needed one (1) FS volunteer. We did not receive a FS volunteer, so we had a volunteer from the faculty that submitted their name.
  - o Jeffrey Reece (vote Y-6; N-0; A-0)
  - o Jeffrey Reece was confirmed by the EC and FS
- December 9, 2024: Irregularities in Graduate Degree Programs Committee (School of Education) needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - o Jennifer Walker (vote Y-5; N-0; A-0)
  - Jennifer Walker was confirmed by the EC and FS, but as of 12.16.24, Chris Wienke will serve in this capacity and Jen Walker was re-appointed to the University Faculty/Staff Appreciation Task Force (due to a potential conflict of interest)

- December 11, 2024: University-Level Early Career Faculty Excellence Award Committee needed one (1) Faculty volunteer
  - o Wasantha Jayawardene (vote Y-0; N-0; A-0)
  - o Minghui (Hannah) Hou (vote Y-5; N-0; A-0)
  - o Minghui (Hannah) Hou was confirmed by the EC and FS
- January 13, 2025: Judicial Review Board (JRB) needed one (1) volunteer from the School of Law, School of Mechanical Engineering, and School of Medicine respectively
  - o School of Law: Cindy Buys (vote Y-6; N-0; A-0)
  - o School of Mechanical Engineering: Asghar Esmaeeli (vote Y-6; N-0; A-0)
  - o School of Medicine: Sukesh Bhaumik (vote Y-6; N-0; A-0)
  - Cindy Buys, Asghar Esmaeeli, and Sukesh Bhaumik were confirmed by the EC and FS
  - In addition, terms expired in December 2024 for JRB members, James
    Conder and Seung-Hee Lee. They wanted to remain on the JRB (vote Y-7; N-0; A-0 to approve re-appointment to JRB and confirmed by EC and FS)
- January 21, 2025: University-Level Scholar Excellence Award Committee needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - o Mohtashim Shamsi (vote Y-5; N-0; A-0)
  - Mohtashim Shamsi was confirmed by the EC and FS
- January 24, 2025: AP/Civil Service Excellence Award Committee needed one (1) volunteer
  - ConC did not receive any volunteers, so we contacted Seleena Shrestha to see if she would serve again in this role and she agreed. No vote at the ConC level due to continuation of service
  - Seleena Shrestha was confirmed by the EC and FS
- January 31, 2025: University Honors Search Committee needed one (1) FS volunteer
  - o John Farrish (vote Y-5; N-0; A-0)
  - John Farrish was confirmed by the EC and FS

- February 4, 2025: University-Level Teaching Excellence Award Committee needed two (2) volunteers, one for NTT award and one for T/TT award
  - Jennifer Sherry (T/TT award) and Michael Hylin (NTT award) were nominated from the FS floor and confirmed
- February 11, 2025: Faculty Senate Meeting
  - Approval of new Faculty Senators to serve on FS Committees (based on first choice from FS Committee Forms)
    - Budget Committee: Ahmed Torky, Jonathan Remo, Kwangho Choiy
    - Governance Committee: Mahtashim Shamsi, Kaitlyn Poirier
    - Faculty Status and Welfare Committee: Julia Rendleman
    - UEPC: John Farrish, Sarah Lewison
  - All approved by FS affirmative vote
- March 19, 2025: Bookstore Advisory Council needed one (1) volunteer
  - o Amber Burtis (vote Y-7; N-0; A-0)
  - o Amber Burtis was confirmed by the EC and FS
- March 19, 2025: Emeritus Faculty Special Committee (comprised of members from FS and/or Faculty volunteers, and Grad Council—which they are appointing their own members and chair)
  - Walter Ray, Sarah Lewison, Carolyn Pointer, Julia Rendleman, James Conder, Khalid Meksem, and Elaine Jurkowski volunteered from the FS and/or Faculty volunteers (vote Y-7; N-0; A-0)
  - All were confirmed by the EC and FS

Respectfully Submitted,

Jennifer S. Sherry, FS Committee on Committees Co-Chair

Gary Apgar, FS Committee on Committees Co-Chair

Prepared--April 21, 2025